Sudan

... different from what you think it would be

Sudan is not the most obvious travel destination. Announcing that your are planning a holiday there will probably provoke astonishment among bystanders as well as references to conflict, terrorism and other safety issues.

Indeed, the country has seen a terrible civil war and violent crimes in the past decades. It still has serious human rights issues, and there are areas in the south and the west that cannot be visited easily.

But contrary to popular perception, Sudan has a low crime rate and has not seen any terrorist attacks on tourists, tourist sites or hotels in the past. Sudan's biggest assets are its friendly people, its amazingly rich history and its breathtaking landscapes.

Our tours take you to the north of the country along the Nile with its dense ribbon of date palms, small irrigation plots and ferries which still manage the traffic where bridges are absent. We traverse vast stretches of desert, and visit bustling towns and beautifully decorated villages.

Every day holds the promise of new adventures; and not just into thousands of years of history: our tours give you the chance to discover Sudan's unique past and its vibrant present.

Discover Sudan!

Where we go

The tours of Discover Sudan! take you to the north of the country i.e. roughly the area between Khartoum and the Egyptian border. Our itineraries follow the lifeline of the Nile, but we also venture into the vast savannah and desert areas east and west of it. 

Our itineraries include all major archaeological sites in Sudan, but we also head for many rarely visited places.

Learn more about Sudan's locations

"You know more of a road by having traveled it than by all the conjectures and descriptions in the world."

William Hazlitt

History and archaeology

... more pyramids than Egypt

Few people are aware of the depth and the richness of Sudan's history, but the Middle Nile valley has not been called Egypt's rival in Africa for nothing. For many millennia, Sudan has been the crossroads between Central Africa and the Mediter­ranean. The country has a compelling history and dramatic remains which tell about it.

Of course there are temples – and more pyramids than in Egypt. But more than this, a trip with Discover Sudan! means undertaking a journey through all periods of human history and experiencing them in a hands-on course.

Explore Sudan's history

"The pyramids of Geezah are magnificent, [...] but for picturesque effect and elegance of architectural design, I infinitely prefer these of Meroe."

George Alexander Hoskins

Sudan today

Facts and figures

Sudan is the third-largest country in Africa. Its southern part belongs to the Sahel zone; the regions in the north are the southeasternmost part of the Sahara. The country has 38 million inhabitants.

Despite Arabic being the main language and Islam the main religion, the Sudanese society is multiethnic. Reportedly, the country has 600 ethnic groups that speak over 400 different languages and dialects. There is much to be learnt about Sudan.

Learn more about Sudan today

Sudan

… anders, als Sie es sich vorstellen

Der Sudan ist kein alltägliches Reiseziel. Die Ankündigung, dass Sie dort einen Urlaub planen, wird normalerweise Erstaunen hervorrufen und Hinweise auf Krieg, Terrorismus und andere Sicherheitsprobleme nach sich ziehen. Und wirklich hat der Sudan in den letzten Jahrzehnten einen schrecklichen Bürgerkrieg erlebt. Er gibt noch immer gravierende Menschenrechtsprobleme und Landstriche im Süden und Westen, die nicht einfach bereisbar sind.

Aber entgegen der allgemeinen Vorstellung hat der Sudan eine geringe Kriminalitätsrate, und es gibt keinen gegen Touristen, Hotels oder Sehenswürdigkeiten gerichteten Terrorismus – dafür aber überaus freundliche Menschen, eine reiche Geschichte und atemberaubenden Landschaften.

Unsere Reisen führen in den Norden des Landes, wo ein grünes Band aus  Feldern und Palmen den Nil säumt und Fähren die Reisenden von Ufer zu Ufer bringen. Wir durchqueren weite Wüsten und besuchen lebhafte Städte und pittoreske Dörfer. Jeder Tag verspricht neue Abenteuer und Ausflüge nicht nur in die jahrtausendealte Geschichte des Landes: Unsere Reisen geben Ihnen die Gelegenheit, Sudans einzigartige Vergangenheit und seine vielfältige Gegenwart gleichermaßen zu entdecken.

Discover Sudan!

Wohin wir reisen

Die Routen von Discover Sudan! führen Sie in den Norden des Landes, zwischen Khartoum und die Grenze zu Ägypten. Wir folgen dem Nil, unternehmen aber auch zahlreiche Abstecher in die Savannen- und Wüstengebiete östlich und westlich des Flusstals. 

Unsere Routen umfassen alle wichtigen archäologischen Plätze im Sudan, wir steuern aber auch viele seltener besuchte Orte an.

Mehr über die Orte im Sudan

"Man erfährt mehr über eine Straße, indem man auf ihr reist, als durch alle Mutmaßungen und Beschreibungen der Welt."

William Hazlitt

Geschichte und Archäologie

… mehr Pyramiden als in Ägypten

Die Geschichte des Mittleren Niltals ist vielen unbekannt, aber die Region wird nicht umsonst Ägyptens Rivale in Afrika genannt. Schon immer war der Sudan ein Knotenpunkt zwischen Zentralafrika und dem Mittelmeerraum, und er besitzt reiche Monumente, die von dieser Vergangeheit erzählen.

Dazu gehören nicht nur Tempel und mehr Pyramiden als in Ägypten – eine Reise mit Discover Sudan! bedeutet, einen Ausflug durch alle Epochen der Menschheitsgeschichte zu unternehmen und sie hautnah zu erleben.

Mehr zur sudanesischen Geschichte

"Die Pyramiden von Gizeh sind gewaltig, […] aber was malerische Wirkung und architektonische Eleganz angeht, ziehe ich die von Meroe tausendmal vor."

George Alexander Hoskins

Sudan heute

Fakten und Zahlen

Der Sudan ist das drittgrößte Land Afrikas. Er besitzt 38 Millionen Einwohner. Sein südlicher Teil liegt in der Sahelzone, die Regionen im Norden bilden den südöstlichsten Ausläufer der Sahara. 

Obwohl Arabisch die Amtssprache und der Islam die Staatsreligion ist, ist die sudanesische Gesellschaft multiethnisch und multikulturell. Im Sudan leben etwa 600 Ethnien, die über 400 Sprachen und Dialekte sprechen. Es gibt viel über sie zu erfahren.

Mehr zum heutigen Sudan