since 1956

Republic of the Sudan

On 1 January 1956, Sudan became an independent state, with Ismail al-Azhari being its first Prime Minister.

Since 1989, Omar Hassan Ahmed al-Bashir has been President.

In 2011, the Republic of the Sudan and the Republic of South Sudan became two separate states.

Locations of interest: 


Strategically located at the confluence of the Blue and the White Nile, Khartoum was founded as an Egyptian military outpost in 1821. It became the capital of Turkish-Egyptian Sudan in 1834. Read more ...

Port Sudan

Port Sudan is Sudan's major port on the Red Sea. Its development started in the early 20th century under British rule. The town is still characterised by its colonial beginnings, with many old buildings being preserved. Read more ...

Discover Sudan!

You will enjoy travelling with us …

  • Small groups of no more than 11 travellers
  • Private journeys, tailor-made tours and self-guided trips
  • Expert scholars with you all through the tour
  • Unique itineraries and extensions that take you off the beaten track
  • Partnerships with archaeological projects and local communities
  • Private behind-the-scenes access
  • Personalised customer service and attention to detail


Learn about our tours